Great Britain

When King James VI of Scotland ascended to the English throne in 1603, he forever joined the English and Scottish crowns. King James called his island kingdom, "Great Britain". Great Britain consists of England, Scotland, and Wales. These England and Scotland, however, maintained separate parliaments until 1707 when they were fused into one. The United Kingdom, formed in 1801, consists of England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland.

updated One of our readers sent this update (many thanks!)--

"Great Britain does indeed consist of England, Scotland, and Wales, however there are only two Kingdoms involved, not three. Wales was and continues to be, a Principality of England. It has never had a separate parliament (until last year when a "Welsh Assembly" was established). Thus only two parliaments were merged in 1707.

"The United Kingdom, formed in 1801, incorporated the whole of Ireland, not merely the north. Its correct title was "The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland". Note, no mention of England and Scotland (still less of Wales) since they were already incorporated in "Great Britain". This was of course altered in 1922 to "The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" with the establishment of the Irish Free State.

"As James was also King of Ireland, your map should show no division between the north and south of that island."

Back to King James VI & I Home Page.

| Eternal Life | Hell is Real | The Gospel According to John |
| My Testimony |Why I Read the Authorized KJV Bible|
| The Hymnal | Messianic Prophecies Fulfilled by Jesus Christ |
| Epistle Dedicatory to the Authorized King James of 1611 |

Jesus Christ is the Only Way to God


Index of King James VI & I - This index will take you to get info on: King James VI of Scotland, King James I of England, Great Britain, Scotland, Wales, England, James Charles Stuart, House of Stuart.